Skip To Content

Best Auto Repair, Bristol

56 Frederick Street Bristol, CT 06010

860-585-1111
Opening Hours
  • Mon 8:00AM - 5:00PM
  • Tue 8:00AM - 5:00PM
  • Wed 8:00AM - 5:00PM
  • Thu 8:00AM - 5:00PM
  • Fri 8:00AM - 5:00PM
  • Sat Closed
  • Sun Closed
CONTACT US

You Don't Have to Take Our Word for It!

Here's what some of our satisfied customers have to say about Black Bear Auto:

reviewicon
07/21/2021

I went out to my car last week and my battery was dead. I had never used Black Bear Auto before, but I called them. They were at my home in 7 minutes, charged my battery so I could drive to the shop. They installed a new battery and I was out within the hour. I went back on Tuesday for an oil change. The staff and owner are probably the most professional and courteous people that I have ever met. AND they have free coffee and soda!!! They are my new auto shop, I wouldn't even think of going anywhere else.



reviewicon
07/20/2021

Reliable, trusty family owned garage.



reviewiconFleet Front End Services, near Bristol, CT
06/24/2021

I've been going to Black Bear Auto for minor repairs for a few years now and they always been most curtious, helpful and always trying to make sure that you understand what is taking place. I brought my Chevy Siverado in for some front end work. Well actually a lot of front end work. What they had to do was expensive but reasonable. After that was done they had to do an alignment and noticed that my tires were in bad need of replacement. I was going to get that done the next day. Greg asked where I was going to get them from and I told him I always go to Tire Depot. To my amazement he offered to get them, mount and do the alignment!! He also discounted some of the work to help me out. The reports they print out are amazing also. They are so detailed but more importantly easy to read and understand and in color. I am so glad that a friend of mine recommended them. I can't see going anywhere else for after warranty work.



reviewicon
06/21/2021

I have been using Black Bear for years. Friendly atmosphere. Honest work that they stand behind, I always recommend this shop to family and friends and would recommend to anybody else who is looking for a honest mechanic.



reviewicon
06/18/2021

i recently moved to this area and my vehicle had a ck engine light come on along with an epc light . the vehicle also bucked and had a noise coming from the engine compartment. i took a chance and brought my car to black bear auto and i have to say i'm glad i did. they diagnosed the vehicle quickly and called my extended warranty to see what they would cover for me. the vehicle had problems and the technician repaired the car in a quick amount of time with care and knowledge which i have to say is not easy on my vehicle. the owner ,Barry, was extremely nice along with Karen who was kind enough to take me home and pick me up as i could not get a car rental..none available..the price was fair and the car drives great now..i will always bring any car that i may own to them..they are stuck with me for life !! thanks again to all of you at black bear auto..



reviewicon
06/15/2021

My engine light was on and my car was vibrating over 70 mph. Barry was able to get me taken care of at my earliest convenience, explained what was wrong and the measures he took to fix it in a way I could understand. They got the work done in half a day, and always offer to give me a ride to & from the shop if I need it. I feel confident in my vehicle when I pull away from Black Bear. I've been taking my Jeeps to Barry & the great folks at Black Bear for like 10 yrs & thousands of miles on my vehicles. I always get quality attention & customer service. Barry always explains what is going on with the car thoroughly. I never feel as if I'm being sold stuff I don't need. I trust Black Bear, my friends trust Black Bear. He keeps my vehicles running effectively and safely. Everyone is so friendly. Even when they are busy, they take the time to take care of their customers. I've never had a bad experience at BB. Barry, Karen, Melissa & the rest of the crew are the best. I feel fortunate every day to have a mechanic I can count on.



reviewicon
06/04/2021

Brought Rogue in last year for AC repair. They did a good job getting parts and getting it done quickly. AC worked fine. This year it stopped working again. Brought it back to them and they found a leak. Fixed it in a couple of hours, no charge. They stand behind their work. Thanks.



05/26/2021

Thank you so much for your quick and efficient service. You could have told me anything had caused the problem and charged me for it. But you tried the simplest repair and fixed the problem, no charge. What a relief. I especially appreciate the rides and driver that brought me home and picked me up when the repair was complete.



reviewicon
05/25/2021

Brought my Chevy Silverado in to have the spark plugs replaced, mileage over 100,000 miles. Was a slight problem but they fixed it promptly and couldn't be more apologetic and so friendly I felt as if we had been friends for years. They truly are professionals and will be more than happy to go back again for other repairs.



reviewicon
05/19/2021

I brought my promaster in for oil change and coolant flush. The staff was friendly, the work was done right and they even did a couple of checks on my van that were not typical that other shops were hesitant to do. Recommended



reviewicon
05/14/2021

Omg Barry and his staff are a++++++ Pete is one of Barry's mechanics he worked on my 96 mustang cobra had the engine rebuilt and a supercharger installed Pete did a awesome job on my car. Thank you



reviewicon
05/12/2021

Very professional, the whole staff. Fairly priced. Explained my options clear. Shuttle service was prompt. Definitely would recommend for anyone's car!



reviewicon
05/07/2021

Black Bear Auto is a family run business that is professional and all who work there are friendly. They were there for me when dropping off my car, for the first time with with engine problems. They explained what my issues were and what needed to be done to fix my car. They care and are truthful and only do what needs to be done. I won't go back to the dealer to have my car serviced ever again since I have the option to go to a place where they accommodate any time that's convenient for me, as well as, are caring that they do a great job, in a timely manner.



reviewicon
05/07/2021

Have been visiting Black Bear for years utilizing their experts for our auto care. A beverage, and free ride home or pick up is part of the care provided by Black Bear Auto. When they explain a diagnosis, there is no need for a second opinion, straight shooters, nor do they try and nickle and dime you by saying you need new wipers, car mats, your glove box door is dirty and should be replaced. This is a trust worthy establishment. You depend on your vehicle to get you to your destination. You can depend on Black Bear.



reviewicon
04/28/2021

I have been Barry's customer since 2001. What I most appreciate about the service is that his mechanics check my car over thoroughly every time I get an oil change and alert me to potential and immediate problems. I am happy to recommend Black Bear to anyone.



reviewicon
04/23/2021

Went in for an oil change and once over before a road trip. First time using Black Bear Auto, if I wasn't moving to another state, they would 100% be my regular mechanic. First, they did not charge me any labor cost for my oil change/check up. The list they gave me from the check up was extremely comprehensive and will give me confidence while on the road trip. Genuine, nice, and great service. What more can you ask for? Couldn't recommend them more!



reviewicon
04/08/2021

Great service and will work with you to get any job done... If you need a part that you don't have "no problem" they are letting me get my seized bolts from dealer and going to finish the job for me so my car can be aligned properly... Good people!!!



04/06/2021

They treat you like family. Quality work for a fair price.



reviewicon
03/26/2021

Had routine oil change, alignment with tire rotation and balancing. They did quality work and contacted me when the job was finished. They also notified me about work that would be needed to be done in the near future. Very satisfied with the experience and will continue to use Black Bear to service both my vehicles.



03/23/2021

I can truly say that I am completely satisfied with the many service experiences that I had at Black Bear. They are trustworthy and reliable. Their entire staff is very capable, from the front desk to the garage. The work area always appears to be well organized and staffed by a high energy, qualified team. I have never had a single issue with any service after the work was completed. I would have to say that they performed better than the original dealer franchise. I will be back!



reviewicon
03/18/2021

Karen, Mike, Melissa and Berry plus the mechanic that worked on my car my apologies for not getting his name all collectively did an awesome job. Very professional, took me right away and delivered. Guys it was a pleasure and you will definitely be in my calling list as well as recommendations to others.



03/12/2021

They do great work and will answer any questions that you have about your vehicle. They help me diagnose a couple things on my vehicle that I was able to go home and do my self. I appreciate it very much!



reviewicon
03/01/2021

Black Bear was great to deal with as usual. I recommend them to anyone that needs work done on their car.



reviewicon
02/18/2021

They took care of my 100000 mile check up , Did a thorough inspection of my F-150 . So glad to find a reputable garage to do maintenance on my vehicles.



reviewicon
02/01/2021

We have been clients of Black Bear Auto for many years and have always been completely happy with the efficient friendly service they provide. From oil changes to major repairs, Barry and his crew are committed to exemplary customer service. We look forward to doing business with them for many years to come!



01/29/2021

Been bringing my car to them for over 15 years. Will never bring my car anywhere else. Only place I feel comfortable sending my wife with our car with not knowing what's wrong knowing she will never be taken advantage of.



reviewicon
01/30/2021

Told me what I needed in my Mercedes SUV and delivered FAST. Also told me the one thing that the tech was unable to do because he/she/they needed to be a licensed MB specialized technician. I appreciated the transparency!! All that was done to my car is warrantied for 2 years or 25k miles. Excellent. Gave me estimates before doing the work and the choice to proceed or not. Owner was handling all of my questions and even checked to see how much I should expect to pay for the final piece that only a MB tech could achieve. It was my first time there and I will definitely be back.



reviewicon
01/29/2021

Always honest and friendly. Never disappointed



reviewicon
01/22/2021

Fantastic service and very friendly staff! Will be returning for my next auto repair need.



reviewicon
01/21/2021

I wanna shout out Black Bear Auto!! Last night, my car was stolen. It was found in the south end of Hartford. I picked it up from a tow company which obviously costs money. I called Black Bear Auto and they took me in right away. Just to make sure the car was safe to drive and also to make sure everything is intact and what not. They were extremely friendly, professional and over all good people. When they were done looking over my car, they let me know the cost. I explained I don't have much. This was an awful thing that happened. Paying the tow company was just about as much as I could do. Black Bear Auto wrote off my whole bill!!! They were so kind. So understanding. They could have easily asked me for half or SOMETHING but they were angels!!!! This was my first time at Black Bear and it definitely won't be my last!!


reviewicon
01/02/2021

GOOD SERVICE NICE PEOPLE



reviewicon
12/30/2020

I had a nail in my tire and came in to have air put in! The young man quickly put air in my tires and said the right back tire required about 15 pounds! Went to Black Bear who took my car right in and quickly removed the nail. Auto mechanic also explained that I did not need to reset! Very pleased!!



reviewicon
12/14/2020

great shop is done a lot of work for my customers, and now they're helping me out of a pickle. If you need any service work done in the Bristol area stop by black bear and ask for Barry tell him I sent you



reviewicon
12/08/2020

Been using Black Bear Auto exclusively for years Honestly trustworthy fast professional plus super nice Would never go anywhere else Customer for life Mike Zerbe



reviewicon
12/02/2020

We have been using Black Bear Auto for over 30 years. Barry has kept a number of different cars running way past the date we should have had them retired. Friendly and professional service that is under warranty. Major work to minor work all done without issues.



reviewicon
11/14/2020

3rd times a charm!! We had repairs done on our Jeep at a dealer.... what a nightmare! The folks at Black Bear were just as puzzled at finding why it wouldn't turn over but persevered and also found all the things the previous repair place said they fixed but didn't. Black Bear fixed ALL my issues and glad to say the check engine light is staying off for the first time in 6 months! I should have gone here first. Everyone there was amazing and I would send anyone that asked, to go there!



reviewicon
10/21/2020

Always excellent professional service and extremely friendly staff. From the simple oil change to the more involved difficult projects and dealing with the sometimes frustrating warranty companies, they do it all with expertise and extreme care and pride. They even "walk" you through every step with constant communication, so you will always know what's been done, what needs to be done and when, and how much it'll cost you before they do it. Black Bear Auto is the only place we take our vehicles now.



reviewicon
08/31/2020

Great Service Team and Office Staff. I wont bring my cars anywheres else for service. They always go the extra mile not only with existing issues but with preventive maintenance to keep my cars on the road 24/7 365.



reviewicon
08/28/2020

Got my tires on quickly and at a great price. Very happy with the service.



reviewicon
06/19/2020

Highly recommend. Professional staff, very knowledgeable, fair and honest.



reviewicon
06/16/2020

I am pleased with the workmanship and professionalism. They explained the work that they would be doing and gave me a clear price estimate to completion.



reviewicon
06/01/2020

I was referred to Black Bear Auto for work that I needed done on my 68 Mustang. Barry was very professional and communicated the scope of work to be done as well as the time frame to complete the job. My car was ready when promised and the prices were very fair. My car has never run better!



reviewicon
05/22/2020

Are you looking for quality service, professionalism, really cool stump carvings, and to get your car running in tip-top order? Look no further! Black Bear Auto is not only reliable, but their staff is a pleasure to work with! I will definitely be coming back for future work and recommending to friends



reviewicon
03/25/2020

Barry always takes great care of me and my truck. I get honest and affordable prices. Best service in the Bristol area for sure.


reviewicon
03/19/2020

Black Bear's staff is very professional but still hometown friendly. I'd recommend them for all your vehicle repair/maintenance needs. They are now my 'go to' business to keep my Subaru in top condition.



reviewicon
03/18/2020

I love this place. Very professional. I drop off my car and I receive a ride to work and pick back up. I work locally. They are not expressive. I love how they explain everything they are going to do. I love the entire team there. The only downside I don't really like they are only open Monday to Friday. They are close on the weekend. So I pray I don't have any car issue.



reviewicon
03/17/2020

A great place to fulfill your auto needs. Really makes you feel like family.



reviewicon
02/21/2020

C ouldnt get better service anywhere Barry the p we need is very attentive to your needs



reviewicon
02/18/2020

Had my 88 mustang gt convertible serviced here. Replaced motor mounts and door lock actuators, also did complete inspection. They provided report of items needing service including pictures as proof of issues. Highly recommend this repair shop. Very impress with their professionalism. Would definitively used them again.



reviewicon
02/14/2020

I have been Barry's customer since 2001. What I most appreciate about the service is that his mechanics check my car over thoroughly ever time I get an oil change and alert me to potential and real problems.



reviewicon
01/17/2020

I've been taking my cars to Black Bear for over a year now. Really friendly and honest service. I just bought a car from them two weeks ago. A day after I picked up I noticed a few small things that needed attention. Black Bear took it back, fixed everything and got the car back to me quickly. I would recommend them to anyone. I love doing business with them.



reviewicon
01/14/2020

Quickly in and out, fixed my flat tire for a reasonable price. I've been a customer for many years and I'll keep coming back!



reviewicon
01/06/2020

Great service and top notch workmanship!



reviewicon
01/04/2020

Had work done a year ago. A part failed and they warranted the replacement. No cost to me. They are old school good with new world technology. Have done small things, no cost. Gave me a ride home and picked me up when car was ready. Great place



reviewicon
12/30/2019

Barry and his staff brought my Outback back to life... I am not taking my car anywhere else.



reviewicon

Once again, Barry and his team came to the rescue. Had some engine issues with a GMC Terrain and they fixed it with fast, reliable, friendly service. Thanks again!!



reviewicon

I was visiting from out of state, and had a problem with my car. Black bear got me in same day, fixed the problem. I was thrilled with the amount of time it took, great customer service, complementary soft drinks and water, and fantastic price. Very pleased.



reviewicon

I have been a customer with Barry at Black Bear for about 20 years. Needless to say I trust their service and quality of work. They stand by what they do and take care of issues that may occur. They have kept our 2003 Mini Cooper with 190,000 miles on the road. Our 2010 Honda Civic is running well with 91,000 miles on it. Why go anywhere else?



reviewicon

I had a flat tire and had my car towed to Black Bear Auto. It was a Sunday and the shop was closed until Monday morning, so I didn't expect it to be repaired. But the owner, Barry Balaban, just happened to be there and took an hour of his Sunday afternoon to fix my tire. I couldn't believe that fantastic level of service. I mean...who does that nowadays? If I could give him 10 stars, I would. Absolutely excellent and absolutely recommend.



reviewicon

We love Black Bear! We have been having our cars serviced by them for 18 years. They are always fast to get you in and always gets the cars serviced or repaired quickly. They are friendly and really personable and they really know what they're doing. Because we are so confident in them, our children have grown and have taken their cars to Bear as well. And now that our grand daughter is driving, she also takes her car to Black Bear. I highly recommend! After 18 years Barry is more than our mechanic, he's our friend.



reviewicon

I love having these guys just around the corner. Thay are quick, courteous, and more than professional. I have gone to them for just about any job I could think of and they always walk me through it. The information they provide is clear and easy to understand, especially when you know nothing about cars. I reccomend them to everyone I know.



reviewicon

They completed a very complex set of work on my truck: -Engine replacement, including several new accessories. -Exhaust pipe repair. -Plow accessory repair. My Dodge Ram V10 can be a tough one to find parts for but they did not fail to find and install everything it needed. They juggled scheduling (mine/theirs) to get everything done before holiday break. They would not say the job was complete until all details were sorted out. In the Bristol area, this is the right shop to do business with.



reviewicon

This is my 1st time at Black Bear for brakes. Barry made it an awesome experience. Fast and great customer service at a reasonable price. I would definately recommend them to my friends and family.



reviewicon

I went to Black Bear Auto today thinking I had a major problem. I was leaking transmission fluid. The folks at Black Bear Auto immediately fit me in their schedule. I quickly learned I just had a worn plug. The service was prompt and honest and the cost was minimal. What a relief! Thanks so much.



reviewicon

Black Bear Auto is an Outstanding repair facility. Barry takes excellent care of your car and stands behind all his work 100% . I brought my car in for front end problems and Barry had the problem solved quickly. Barry and his staff listen to the customer's complaints and ask for you to road test the car to find out what the problem is. They treat the customer with respect and honor. I can think of no where else to take my car. It is so hard these days to find and good mechanic. Barry is a certified mechanic and his staff is very dedicated to helping the customer and fixing the problem . Prices are always fair and as I said before, Barry stands behind all his work. I recommend Black Bear very highly. Stop in and see Barry. You will be impressed.



reviewicon

I was frantic when Veron's Auto decided to retire, then I heard about Bears. They truly are a great company who's owner and staff are top notch. Door to door service and reasonable rates for the amount of work that they did to my car. (I hate taking my car to a dealer) So my experience was wonderful and i'll keep them doing work on my car. Thanks!



reviewicon

I have a custom performance exhaust system that was on my truck when I bought it. After several years the muffler and tailpipe separated. I looked online to try to find a "good" exhaust place. I found Black Bear Auto which was rated quite well. I called and Mike was able to fit me in the very next day. My first impression was awe. The building looks awesome with its mural painting, and the property was well kept. Inside the building was not like your regular garage. The office was very inviting and hospitable with various coffees, sodas, and water. It also had an area for customer to wait that included chairs and a large table if you needed to get some work done while away from school or the office. The garage was also well kept and maintained, It was easy to see there was a high level of professionalism and pride in this garage. Barry worked his tail off to find me a suitable muffler for my system. He was able to have my exhaust system repaired and sounding great that afternoon. The price was very fair and was what I would expect from a reputable garage. There were no surprised. All work was authorized before it was performed. My truck sounded great and was left in the same condition as when i dropped it off. No dirty hand prints or greasy foot marks. I would like to thank the staff at Black Bear for the work they did for me. I had a very good experience at Black Bear Auto and would recommend them to anyone who wants a fair,quality, and conscientious repair.



reviewicon

This was the best car repair experience I've ever had! Excellent service! Completely fixed! I love this auto shop!



reviewicon

I live in Massachusetts and work in CT. When I took my car to the Toyota Dealer in Massachusetts to get a small repair and a state inspection sticker, I was told my 4-Runner needed $3700 worth of work. I took my inspection sticker, drove right to Black Bear and showed Barry the list of "have to do's" from the Toyota place. Barry took the time to go thru the whole vehicle, make the necessary repairs ($1,000), and walk me thru step by step all of the "issues" that the Toyota place said I needed to do (that did not need to be done) and all of the parts that they were charging me double what Barry charged. I never worry when I take a vehicle to Black Bear that I am getting anything but the top service and the most fair price possible. You have to love a repair shop that tells you all the things you do not need done to your car, rather than the 3 page list of problems you get from the dealers. Run away from the dealership straight to Black Bear....and tell all your friends.



reviewicon

I love bringing my car to black bear auto. I always trust Barry and the rest of the guys with my Infiniti. All around great people and a great shop! Wouldn't go anywhere else.



reviewicon

I've been bringing my cars to Black Bear for 10+ years. Barry has always been upfront and honest with me regarding repairs and I've truly enjoyed doing business with him and his staff. He's helped me out in several emergency situations, given me rides to and from work and I appreciate his honesty and his willingness to help always! I've referred many family members and friends who have also become long time customers! Barry, thank you for finally being "an honest mechanic"!



reviewicon

Great shop. Barry and his guys always do a great job. I know my car is in good hands at Black Bear.



reviewicon

They do amazing work and cheap and in a timely manner.



reviewicon

Since I'm from Florida and dont know anyone when my car broke down i found this place there service is awesome and they are so nice and welcoming i will definitely be going back for future service!



reviewicon

ery reasonably priced, very knowledgeable, very courteous and helpful. They offer free refreshments in the waiting area, which was very clean and comfortable.



reviewicon

After having some electrical problems with my car.......Got stuck in a bad situation, needed to get to my husband because his grandmother had just died but when I went out to start my car it almost didn't. I called these guys because I needed someone to help immediately and they went out of their way to make time for me despite not knowing what was wrong with my car or how long it would take them to fix it. By the time I got down to their parking lot my battery had completely died and my car was done. I wasn't going anywhere without their help. Barry, the owner, was so accommodating and so caring. They never charge me a diagnostic fee to figure out what was wrong with my car. Very simply ran outside immediately diagnosed my car and then got one of his mechanics right on it. I was in and out of there within a half an hour. He did not overcharge me in fact in my opinion he under charged me. The mechanics in that situation would have taken full advantage and charged as much as they possibly could have and taking advantage of every possible way. These people did not, they are good people, good mechanics and everyone there has a great big heart. I was able to get to my husband's side and console him with very little headache or worry once I pulled into their parking lot. Definitely got more than my money's worth. Thank you so much Barry and black bear Auto!



reviewicon

Quick, quality, reasonable prices and refreshments in the waiting room. I can definitely say the slogan fits, and I also found my new mechanic!



reviewicon

Came recommended by someone who knows this area & knows cars & I was not disappointed at all. They fixed an issue that the dealership & several other mechanics couldn't. They were also incredibly courteous! So happy to have found our official local mechanic after living here for 4+ yrs. taking another vehicle there soon



  • ASE (Automotive Service Excellence)
  • IDENTIFIX
  • Jasper
  • ALL-DATA
  • Car Care Aware

Testimonials

, 07/21/2021
I went out to my car last week and my battery was dead. I had never used Black Bear Auto before, but I called them. They were at my home in 7 minutes, charged my battery so I could drive to the shop. They installed a new battery and I was out within the hour. I went back on Tuesday for an oil change. The staff and owner are probably the most professional and courteous people that I have ever met. AND they have free coffee and soda!!! They are my new auto shop, I wouldn't even think of going anywhere else.
view all reviews
TAP TO CALL NOW 860-585-1111 X